Captain America: Civil War Review

Captain-America-Civil-War-main-posterThe following review contains NO SPOILERS.

tl;dr – I’m not sure if Civil War is a perfect movie, but it is a perfect comic book movie. I honestly believe that years from now, this will be considered the Empire Strikes Back of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Bold claims above, I know, but this movie packs an emotional punch. I really don’t want to spoil anything, but I’ll say that the state of the MCU at the end of this movie is about the same state that the Rebellion is in at the end of Episode V, hence the reference above. I’m still processing this movie, so I don’t know if I can definitively rank it with other comic book movies. But it might be the best MCU movie so far, and it might even be the best comic book movie of all time. Might. Like I said, I’m still processing.

Being a massive comic book fan, I personally consider the original Civil War storyline to be one of the best stories that Marvel has ever published. Saying that, I also have to say that I was extremely satisfied with this film. No, it doesn’t even come close to following the storyline from the comics (none of the Marvel movies really have), but it followed the spirit of the comic perfectly. Both Cap’s and Tony’s viewpoints have merit, and I feel the story will successfully create a divide among moviegoers, just like the original story divided comic book readers. While the marketing for this film has been pretty good, I know several people who are confused about why they are fighting. That will not be the case when you watch this film. Lines are drawn, and they are very clear, and everyone will pick a side for a specific reason. Everyone. Oh, and unlike a certain other superhero fight movie that came out this year (*cough* BvS *cough*), the title fight is a significant portion of this movie, and there may be more than one round of fighting.

This is Marvel’s most serious movie to date. Don’t get wrong there is some terrific and spot-on humor. It might actually some of the best-utilized humor in the MCU. Unlike some of the jokes in Age of Ultron, which seemed scripted (obviously they were, as it was a movie, but a lot of them felt very unnatural), my initial reaction is to say that all of the gags in this movie felt like they would actually happen in these given situations with these specific people. Especially the ones from Spider-Man.

Oh yeah, Spider-Man’s in this movie. I’ve heard a lot of people say that this is the best Spider-Man we’ve ever gotten in a movie. While I thought he was amaz-, nope, spectac-, nope, sensatio-, nope, um, really good, he’s only in the movie for like 10-15 minutes. I’ll need to see his full movie next year to determine whether I really regard him as the best (as am I a huge and unashamed fan of the both the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield iterations of Spider-Man). But he was really good, and I’m now even more excited for his movie next year.

Prior to this tangent, I was talking about the seriousness of this movie. As I said, just as Empire Strikes Back took a dark turn after the original Star Wars, this movie sees most of our favorite characters go down dark paths. It’s not as dark as say Marvel’s own Daredevil show or even something like the Dark Knight trilogy, but this isn’t your happy-go-lucky Avengers team that we’ve seen up until now. Bad stuff happens, and that bad stuff has consequences. Much like the original comic, the story goes past the point of no return, and I doubt that things will ever be the same for most of these characters.

Speaking of characters, they all get their moments to shine. Everyone, and I mean everyone, of the Avengers gets their own little storyline in this movie. The character that I was most surprised about getting a significant story was Sharon Carter, however. She was criminally under-utilized in Winter Soldier. And while she isn’t featured in this movie quite as much as I wish she’d be (she is one of the best supporting character from the Captain America comics), it was certainly a pleasant surprise to see her as much as we did. All that said, the comments that “this isn’t an Avengers movie, this is a Captain America movie” are totally false. Sure, almost everything that happens in this movie can be traced back to Captain America, but it’s in the same way that almost everything that happens in Age of Ultron can be traced back to Tony. If this movie needed to be called “Captain America: Civil War”, AoU should have been called “Iron Man: Age of Ultron.” Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a complaint, I loved this movie, but “Avengers: Civil War” would have been a more fitting title.

There is really so much more I could say. The acting was great. The action was mind-blowingly amazing. There were so many moments that made my comic-book-nerd heart happy. Spider-Man was wonderful. Black Panther was set up extremely well for his upcoming movie. There were so many great character interactions, especially between members of the same teams, and members of the opposite teams. (So pretty much all of the character interactions). Every character gets a moment to be cool. And, while I definitely have a side (Team Cap all the way), there is no clear-cut choice between who is right and who is wrong.

I don’t feel like I need to rant any more about this movie. If you haven’t seen this yet, stop what you are doing and go to the theater right now. If you’ve already seen this, you should probably go see it again (I definitely will). Let me know what you think in the comments below, and be sure to use spoiler warnings where appropriate! If you enjoyed this review, please consider sharing it on social media! 

 

One thought on “Captain America: Civil War Review

  1. Bryce Morrison

    Great review. I also think this may be 1 of the top 2 movies of the MCU so far. Up there with Winter Soldier. 1 minor complaint I have is about Spiderman. I liked the portrayal of his personality but I just wish they would have put a little bit more muscle on him. I know Spiderman isn’t supposed to be huge but he was too small in my opinion.
    Storyline was great and action was incredible.
    Overall, awesome movie and spot-on review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

